Bipolar Disorder · Depression · mental health

Positive Changes

I have made so many positive changes in the last 2 months since my last depressive episode, I decided to tell you about it. Keep in mind that what is working for me, may not work for everyone but I do believe it is all worth a try.  The first thing I did as soon as I realized I was feeling low was to force myself to get out of bed everyday and take my medication. Spring was here and I love the outdoors so I spent my time outside in the sun as much as possible. I noticed at the beginning of March that I had lost a few pounds. Losing weight has been a pain in my butt for the last couple of years, and now I had lost some without even trying. I decided to start tracking my progress again. I just made little changes, healthy choices really. For example, I mostly drink water, but I keep sweet tea from the grocery store in my fridge for an occasional treat. There are 105 calories in 12 oz of sweet tea from the store. Now, I make my own from home and add 1 tsp of sugar for only 15 calories. Plus it is way cheaper. Little changes like that have made my body very happy and have boosted my mood and confidence because I lost 5 lbs, 1.5 inches in my hips and I am only 12 lbs away from my ultimate weight loss goal! I can fit into so many old clothes! I’ve started walking a lot more. My daughter and I started volunteering at our local shelter and we walk the dogs at least 2.5 miles once a week and I take frequent walks around my neighborhood with my own dogs. I have started adhering to a strict bedtime schedule. I started this mostly because my daughter has to make sure she brushes and flosses her teeth every night. I set an alarm on my phone and at 9:00 pm we brush/floss our teeth together, we wash our faces, & put on our pajamas. I have some dark spots on my face, probably from the sun, so I researched some of the essential oils I had on hand. I bought Frankincense a while ago because it is supposed to be good for my mood. Come to find out it is great for your face too!  I have been applying it (with my moisturizer.) Now I have the benefit on my face, and it helps my mood aromatically. After we are finished,  I make some chamomile tea and we watch TV or finish homework with the rest of the family until bedtime. Then I take my medicine and I’m off to bed. Mentally, I have been trying to be more positive. It is easier to be a positive person when you feel good physically. Baby steps. That is what I am taking. Next, I want to incorporate some yoga in my morning routine.

3 thoughts on “Positive Changes

  1. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and
    bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more
    useful than ever before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

