Lent · mental health · religion

I Have Been Challenged

“Lent is a period of fasting, moderation, and self-denial traditionally observed by Catholics and some Protestant denominations. It begins with Ash Wednesday and ends with Easter Sunday. The length of the Lenten fast was established in the 4th century as 46 days (40 days, not counting Sundays). During Lent, participants eat sparingly or give up a particular food or habit. It’s not uncommon for people to give up smoking during Lent, or to swear off watching television or eating candy or telling lies. It’s six weeks of self-discipline.” (www.gotquestions.org>what-is-lent)

This is the challenge I have challenged myself. I am a Catholic and every year I give up something. Last year was soda and sweet tea. That wasn’t a big challenge, so this year I strive for more. I have been trying to get rid of negative things in my life. I have cursed like a sailor since I was in high school. I was a little better when my kids were little but it came back with a vengeance. This year, I’m giving up swearing. And to keep me accountable, for every swear word that slips out, I am putting a coin, whatever I have in my wallet, in the rice bowl the church gave us to collect spare change they donate to Catholic Relief Services. In addition to giving up cursing, I am participating in Ann Marie Heasley’s 40 Bags in 40 Days* challenge of decluttering my life .  I am super excited for this challenge. I was going do some spring cleaning anyway, what better way to spread it out over the 40 days of Lent and donate our unused items so someone else can have them. I don’t feel like I’m giving up anything at all. I am giving more to Catholic Relief Services with my rice box and to the less fortunate by donating the items we don’t use anymore. This is not just a challenge that only Catholic or Protestants celebrating Lent can do. This is for everyone. I challenge you to find something that will keep you giving for the next 40 days!

*You can find more info about Ann Marie Heasley and her 40 Bag in 40 Days at her website: http://www.whitehouseblackshutters.com/40-bags-in-40-days/

Leave a Reply

