Bipolar Disorder · mental health · relationships

Not Every One is Going To Like You

This title is true for everyone, but I think people with bipolar have it especially hard. The extreme moods swings and horrible symptoms that come with it can make it difficult to even get to know the real person inside. It can be pretty hard to swallow if you find out someone doesn’t like you because of this. But that’s okay. Do you really want a friend who will only be there when you’re “normal?” I have always had a loud, bubbly personality. I have a huge heart and care about everyone. This is one of the best learned behaviors I can pass on to my children. Another? Stop worrying if everybody is going to like you, because they all won’t. I don’t really care what people think. I should rephrase that. I don’t care what strangers and acquaintances think of me. I do care about what my family and friends think. They are the people that matter in my life. I think I taught a good lesson to my kids tonight. I found out that my good friend tried to share an opportunity to someone who doesn’t like me. Apparently, I shared somethings that this person did and although I didn’t say anything that wasn’t true, she doesn’t like me because I shared it. I even made a public apology because it wasn’t my intention to hurt or upset anyone. She still doesn’t like me. Guess what? I don’t care. I don’t even know this woman. I only know “of” her from experiences my husband and my friend has had with her. My friend asked her if she was interested in this opportunity and she said, “No, because I would have to be around Anne.” Seriously? She would be around me maybe once a month for about 2 hours in a room filled with lots of women. This is what I told my kids. “Not everyone is going to like you and that is okay. Just don’t let someone stop you from doing what you want to do because they don’t like you. Be the bigger person.” If I lived my life avoiding people who didn’t like me, I would have missed out on a lot of my life.

Leave a Reply

