Love · mental health · relationships

A Love Letter To My Parents

I have been on a kick of writing love letter lately. I absolutely love them. What better way to brighten someone’s day than with a love letter??!! This one is for my parents.

Dear Mom & Dad,

Thank you for loving me unconditionally, even when I was unlovable. You were the perfect parents. You gave me life, you gave me shelter, you gave me food, and most of all, you gave me love. In my entire childhood, I never felt unloved. You gave me everything my heart desired (within reason!) I even asked for a piano every year until I was in probably 3rd grade and you gave me one when I was 14. You made sure that my every need was met. You were so kind and made sure that I broadened my horizons. You set amazing examples. You taught me life lessons. You let me fall, but were always there to pick me up if I was unable to by myself. I was always an emotional child, and you were patient. I suspect that I probably had an anxiety disorder as a child, but you always wrapped your arms around me and made me feel safe. Why would you think that anything would be wrong when I calmed to your touch. As I look back now, I can see the changes in me. I had theatre as an outlet to expel the extra energy. I had singing to completely lose myself in. But you were there. You came to my concerts, you came to my performances, you were behind me 100%. You have supported me my entire life. I’m sure when I told you that I was diagnosed with Bipolar II and generalized anxiety disorder, it broke your heart. It would break mine as a parent. My baby is sick and nothing can fix her. Sure, there are medications to lessen the symptoms, but nothing can cure the disease that runs through their head. You researched the disease and learned what you could. You were there to go to doctor appointments with me. You were there when my husband had enough and left. You were there to make sure my children didn’t suffer because I was sick and was alone. You were the first in line to celebrate when I found love again. You were relieved I found someone to take care of me. You are so happy that I am happy again. Without you, I couldn’t have done it. I couldn’t have been the person I am today. You’ve made me strong. You’ve made me appreciate the little things. You’ve have helped make me an amazing mother. (Because of you Marian is not a stinker.) My kids think you are amazing grandparents. My husband thinks you are amazing in laws. You are amazing parents. If you ever have doubts about being a good parent, don’t. Not only did you do the best you could, you did better than most. I am a different mother, but I took the good and the bad that you taught me and made it my own. I believe I am successful. I know how you grew up and I know how you feel about your upbringing. I hope you will be happy to know that I do not feel the same. I had an amazing childhood. I had a great upbringing with parents who loved me and supported me, even if they didn’t agree. I love you. I don’t say it everyday or near enough. I cannot imagine my life without you. Unfortunately, I will probably have to finish my life without you. I want you to know that you are loved. You did it right. Best parents and grandparents awards go to you.

I really wanted to dance with my dad to the Celine Dion song “Because You Loved Me” but it wasn’t meant to be at the time. I still feel this way, here are the lyrics to the song. I truly am “everything I am because you loved me”

For all those times you stood by me
For all the truth that you made me see

For all the joy you brought to my life
For all the wrong that you made right
For every dream you made come true
For all the love I found in you
I’ll be forever thankful baby
You’re the one who held me up
Never let me fall
You’re the one who saw me through through it all

You were my strength when I was weak
You were my voice when I couldn’t speak
You were my eyes when I couldn’t see
You saw the best there was in me
Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach
You gave me faith ‘coz you believed
I’m everything I am
Because you loved me

You gave me wings and made me fly
You touched my hand I could touch the sky
I lost my faith, you gave it back to me
You said no star was out of reach
You stood by me and I stood tall
I had your love I had it all
I’m grateful for each day you gave me
Maybe I don’t know that much
But I know this much is true
I was blessed because I was loved by you

You were my strength when I was weak
You were my voice when I couldn’t speak
You were my eyes when I couldn’t see
You saw the best there was in me
Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach
You gave me faith ‘coz you believed
I’m everything I am
Because you loved me

You were always there for me
The tender wind that carried me
A light in the dark shining your love into my life
You’ve been my inspiration
Through the lies you were the truth
My world is a better place because of you

You were my strength when I was weak
You were my voice when I couldn’t speak
You were my eyes when I couldn’t see
You saw the best there was in me
Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach
You gave me faith ‘coz you believed
I’m everything I am
Because you loved me

I’m everything I am
Because you loved me

Writer(s): Diane Warren, Deniece Williams
Copyright: Realsongs F/S/o Diane Warren, Touchstone Pictures Music & Songs Inc.,

Kee-drick Music, Embassy Music Corp.

Leave a Reply

